I only have had one formal class on Instructional Design, part of my Master’s in Educational Technology Leadership from The George Washington University, so I am in no way claiming superior thoughts or knowledge on this matter. But today, I am sitting a training on Learning Focused, and I am thinking about how I could apply this training to my role in the school system now, especially considering I am no longer in the classroom.

Instructional design is the first thing that popped into my head. Almost as a way of organizing current and future trainings so that we only deliver what is most important and help the participants get the big picture. Part of me wonders if this is something we already do as trainers, just informally… after all, it’s not like you always have the time to work through the entire instructional design model.

I am only thinking about this because some of the “canned” training materials we receive from the technology companies we work with often seem to be lacking… we continuously receive feedback that states, “I learned some great tips and tricks, but I still don’t really know what I am supposed to do next.” These comments, along with the knowledge that the materials are lacking are a bothersome issue for me. I don’t want participants to feel like their time was wasted. I don’t want participants to feel as though they are leaving without everything they need to be successful.

We have the ability to rework and change up the materials we receive – but the issue of time always comes into play. I reworked some training materials for our district last year, and although they did improve, I wasn’t pleased with the overall finished product. This was before my instructional design class and before this training today, so hopefully I will be able to take this knowledge gained and put it to good practice.

